You are here: About us Standing Committees

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Quality Assurance and Accreditation

Terms of Reference


The UGC, empowered by Section 4(2) of the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978, as and when required appoints Standing Committees for specific purposes, consisting of such members and with such powers, duties and functions as may be determined by the Commission. The Chairman of each Standing Committee shall be a member of the Commission.


The main role of the Standing Committee on Quality Assurance and Accreditation would be to function as the advisory body to UGC - QAAC and vigorously pursue/promote QA programmes according to universities.

In this regard the following specific activities will be pursued:

  • Initiate actions on policy directions issued by the UGC from time to time and take steps to implement prescribed initiatives, programmes and activities at university/campus/institute level.
  • Function as a catalytic unit to promote new initiatives and reforms to improve and advance the quality and relevance of all undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes and convey to the Commission for consideration.
  • Function as the advisory body of the QAAC of UGC and also as the monitoring and reporting body of the quality assurance and accreditation programme undertaken by QAAC.
  • Engage in designing and introduction of regulatory framework (i.e. pre-requisites, uniform credit and qualification framework, and standard teaching and training, and evaluation methods) to promote lateral mobility of students among non-professional degree programmes such as Agricultural Sciences, Natural and Applied Sciences and Liberal Arts and Humanities.
  • Frame guidelines for planning of new undergraduate degree programmes, namely, a) ways and means of evaluating need and demand, b) graduate profile, c) structure of the study programme, d) courses and intended learning outcomes and planning for course modules, e) evaluation procedures and f) credit qualification framework for natural and applied science degree programmes.

Members Information

Membership Name Designation Institute
Chairman Prof. Malik Ranasinghe Commission Member University Grants Commission
Secretary Mrs. Janadari Wijesinghe Senior Assistant Secretary/Academic Affairs University Grants Commission
Prof. Lakshman Dissanayake Vice-Chancellor University of Colombo
Prof. Sampath Amaratunga Vice-Chancellor University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Prof. Upul B. Dissanayake Vice-Chancellor University of Peradeniya
Prof. Sunanda Madduma Bandara Vice Chancellor University of Kelaniya
Prof. Ananda Jayawardene Vice-Chancellor University of Moratuwa
Prof. (Mrs.) V Arasaratnam Vice-Chancellor University of Jaffna
Prof. S.A. Ariadurai Vice-Chancellor Open University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Gamini Senanayake Vice-Chancellor University of Ruhuna
(Competent Authority) Vice-Chancellor Eastern University, Sri Lanka
Prof. MMM Najim Vice-Chancellor South Eastern Univesity of Sri Lanka
Prof. Ranjith Wijewardena Vice-Chancellor Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Chandana P Udawatte Vice-Chancellor Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
Prof. SJBA Jayasekera Vice-Chancellor Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Dr. G Chandrasena Vice-Chancellor Uva-Wellassa University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Ariyarathne Kaluarachchi Vice-Chancellor University of the Visual & Performing Arts
Prof. Deepthi Bandara Director Quality Assurance & Accreditation Council, UGC
Major General Milinida Peiris Vice-Chancellor General Sir John Kothalawala Defence University
Dr. Athula Pitigala-Arachchi Chief Executive Officer Asia Pacific Institute of Information Technology
Prof. Lalith Gamage Managing Director Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology
Prof. Kalyani Perera HETC Consultant for Quality Assurance HETC Project
Members on Advisory Capacity
Prof. Uma Coomaraswamy Former Vice Chancellor Open University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Narada Warnasuriya Former Vice Chancellor University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Prof. Colin N Peiris Former Director Quality Assurance & Accreditation Council, UGC
Dr. Upali Mampitiya Consultant for SLQF Work HETC Project
Mr. Chandragupta Thenuwara Director (Quality Assurance) University of the Visual and Performing Arts

Special Links


Editors' Login