You are here: About us Standing Committees

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Staff Development in Universities

Terms of Reference

  • Initiate actions on policy directions issued by the UGC periodically and take steps to implement prescribed initiatives, programmes and activities at the UGC/ University/ Institute levels.
  • Engage in facilitating in designing and introduction of Staff Development activities in Universities.
  • Guide, co-ordinate and review activities of the Human Resources Development Unit at the UGC, Staff Training Centre of the UGC, and SDCs in Universities with regard training activities, management and finances and report to the Commission and make appropriate suggestions for improvement.
  • Frame guidelines for planning for staff development programmes, namely, a) ways and means of assessing training needs of staff, b) structure of the training courses / programmes  c) intended learning outcomes of courses and planning of course modules, and e) evaluation of impact of staff development programmes.
  • Facilitate and contribute to the evaluation of proposals submitted by Universities and institutes.
  • Function as a catalytic unit to promote new initiatives and reforms to improve the efficiency, productivity of academic and non-academic staff.

Members Information

Membership Name Designation Institute
Chairman of the SC  Prof. PSM Gunaratne  Vice Chairman/ UGC  University Grants Commission
Secretary Ms. Nadeesha Samarasinghe Assistant Secretary/HRDU University Grants Commission
Prof. Champa M Navaratne Director/SDC University of Ruhuna
Prof. MR Podinilame Director/SDC University of the Visual & Performing Arts
Prof. P Ravirajan Director/SDC University of Jaffna
Prof. PA Weerasinghe Director/SDC Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Prof. A A Y Amarasinghe  Director/SDC Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
Prof. K Kapila C Perera  Director/SDC University of Moratuwa
Prof. Ajantha Dharmasiri Director Postgraduate Institute of Management
Dr. Priyantha Premakumara Secretary University Grants Commission
Dr. S M Ahamed Lebbe Director/SDC South Eastern University of Sri Lanka
Dr. C N Herath Director/SDC Open University of Sri Lanka
Dr. D A C Silva Director/SDC University of Colombo
Dr. RB Marasinghe Director/SDC University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Dr. WM Semasinghe  Director/SDC University of Kelaniya
Dr. S Sutharsan  Director/SDC Eastern University, Sri Lanka
Dr. UD Chandrasena  Actg. Director/SDC  University of Peradeniya
Dr. S C Jayamanne Director/SDC Uva Wellassa University
Dr. Udith Jayasinghe Director/SDC Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Dr. Marikkar Director/SDC General Sir John Kotalawala Defence University
Mr. Patrick Amarasinghe President Young Entrepreneurs' Sri Lanka


Attachement :  Training manual on induction programme for academic staff of Sri Lankan Universities.pdf


Special Links


Editors' Login