You are here: Policy Establishments Circular Letters 2007 Establishment Circular Letter No. 10/2007

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

  • English
  • Sinhala
  • Tamil-Sri Lanka

Establishment Circular Letter No. 10/2007

01st November,  2007


Vice-Chancellors of Universities,
Rectors of Campuses,
Directors of Institutes


Your kind attention is invited to the  procedure  to be followed when  recruitments are externally done to the non academic non administrative posts stipulated in Commission Circular No. 876  of 06th June 2006.

The Commission at its 744th  meeting held on  24th October, 2007 decided  to inform the Higher Educational Institutions to  strictly follow the provisions in Commission Circular No.876 when recruitments are externally done to the posts stipulated therein on  permanent/ casual/temporary/contract basis.

Please note that  the "Ministry of  Education/ Higher Education Division mentioned in Commission Circular No. 876 has now been changed as Ministry of Higher Education.    Therefore,  the requests in accordance with step I  in the said circular be made to the Secretary, Ministry  of Higher  Education, No. 18, Ward Place, Colombo  07.

The Salary Codes of A-13, A-14, & A-15 have also now been  revised as U-PL 1(III),  U-PL 1 (II) and U-PL 2(III) under the  main salary codes of U-PL 1 and U- PL  2 by Commission Circular No.879  of 11th   August, 2006

The provisions  of this circular will come into operation with immediate effect.

Please take action accordingly.


(Prof.Gamini Samaranayake)


1.    Chairman's Office/UGC           
2.    Vice-Chairman/UGC 
3.    Members of  the UGC             
4.    Secretary/UGC            
5.    Deans of Faculties            
6     Registrars of Universities              
7.    Financial Controller/UGC              
8.    Bursars of Universities             
9.    Librarians/SAL/AL of the Higher Educational Institutions/ Institutes.              
10.   Deputy Registrars/ Snr. Asst. Registrars/ Asst. Registrars of Campuses/Institutes             
11.   Deputy Bursars/ Snr. Asst. Bursars/Asst. Bursars of Campuses/Institutes   
12.   Chief Internal Auditor/UGC              
13.   Govt. Audit Superintendents of Universities              
14.   Snr. Asst. Int. Auditors/Asst. Int. Auditors of HEIs              
15.   Secretaries of Trade Unions              
16.   Auditor-General

File No: UGC/HR2/3/37