You are here: About us Standing Committees

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Career Guidance

Terms of Reference


The UGC, empowered by Section 4(2) of the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978, as and when required appoints Standing Committees for specific purposes, consisting of such members and with such powers, duties and functions as may be determined by the Commission. The Chairman of each Standing Committee shall be a member of the Commission.

The Standing Committee on Career Guidance is mandated to oversee the programs and activities relating to following key areas

i) career guidance and 'soft skills' development,

ii) industrial placement program and

iii) promotion of ethnic and social cohesion and harmony in universities.


The specific functions are;

  1. Initiate discussions on UGC policy directives on three key areas specified above and formulate guidelines on action plans to be developed and launched at University/Institute level.
  2. Develop guidelines on institutional framework required at University/Institute level for designing and implementing programs and activities to
  3. i) strengthen soft skills and provide effective career guidance services,

    ii) successfully implement industrial placement programs and

    iii) promotion of greater ethnic and social cohesion among staff and students in sustainable manner.

  4. Regularly monitor the progress made through review visits made to respective Career Guidance Units and quality of outcomes of programs offered by each Career Guidance Units and activities launched under three key areas.


Members Information

Membership Name Designation Institute
Chairman  Prof. Chandana P Udawatte Vice Chairman University Grants Commission
Secretary Mrs. Janadari Wijesinghe Deputy Secretary/Academic Affairs University Grants Commission
Dr. D.D.P.M. Dunusinghe Director University of Colombo
Prof. Nimal Dharmasena Director University of Peradeniya
Mrs. HAKS Sanjeewani Actg. Director University of Kelaniya

Dr. Satish Namasiwayam
Director University of Moratuwa
Dr. (Mrs) MG Geetha Director University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Dr. S Kannathasan Director University of Jaffna
Mr. AC Karunarathna Director University of Ruhuna
Mrs. ALKA Ekanayake Director Open University of Sri Lanka
Dr. P Elango Director Eastern University, Sri Lanka
Dr. (Mrs.) GAS Ginigaddara Director Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Dr. PI Yapa Director Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
Dr. KGMCPB Gajanayake Director Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Dr. Wasana Herath Director Uva Wellassa University of Sri Lanka

Mr. MSM Jalaldeen
Director South Eastern University of Sri Lanka
Mr. RPM Senevirathne Director University of the Visual & Performing Arts
Dr. HP Wakkumbura Coordinator Gampaha Wickramarachchi Ayurveda Institute