You are here: About us Standing Committees

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Terms of Reference


  • To serve as a consultative forum that can effectively address issues of learning, teaching, research and staffing in Fine Arts at Undergraduate and Postgraduate levels in Sri Lankan universities coming under the purview of the UGC.
  • To assist in the formulation and dissemination of polices, practices and procedures and to initiate actions on policy directions issued by the UGC from time to time and take steps to implement prescribed initiatives, programmes and activities at Institute/Faculty/Department and Unit level.
  • To evaluate proposals submitted by Institutes/Faculties/Departments and Units teaching Fine Arts with respect to curricular reforms and curriculum for new study programmes and submit recommendations to the Commission.
  • To propose timely changes in curriculum, evaluation and revision in Fine Arts study programmes.
  • To encourage creation and dissemination of avenues for research and publication.
  • To promote research, innovations and outreach programmes of regional/national importance.
  • To promote networking and strategic partnerships between HEIs, National and Regional Institutions involved in Performing and Fine Arts.
  • To evaluate proposals submitted by Universities/Faculties/Institutes for the establishment of new Department/Units and submit recommendations to the Commission.
  • To function as a catalytic unit to promote new initiatives and reforms to improve and advance quality and relevance of teaching/learning/research both undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes on Performing and Fine Arts and convey to the Commission for consideration.
  • To frame guidelines for planning of new undergraduate degree programmes, namely, a) ways and means of evaluating need and demand, b) qualification descriptors specific to the degree programme, c) graduate profile, d) structure of the study programme, e) credit & qualification framework for degree programmes in Fine Arts, f) intended learning outcome of the degree programmes, g) intended learning outcome of courses and modules, and h) assessment procedures.

Members Information

Membership Name Designation Institute
Chairman  Prof. Premakumara de Silva Commission Member / Faculty of Arts University of Colombo
Secretary Ms.MPK Senadheera Asistant Secretary -Academic Affairs University Grants Commission
Prof. MR Podinilame Dean, Faculty of Visual Arts, University of the Visual & Performing Arts
Mr. SMM Senanayaka, Dean, Faculty of Dance and Drama University of the Visual & Performing Arts
Prof. Kolitha Bhanu Dissanayaka Dean, Faculty of Music University of the Visual & Performing Arts
Dr. Manoj Alawathukotuwa Head, Department of fine Arts University of Peradeniya
Prof. Patrick Rathnayaka Head, Department of Fine Arts, Faculty of Humanities University of Kelaniya
Dr.V. Inpamohan Head, Department of Fine Arts, Faculty of Arts and culture. Eastern University, Sri Lanka
Prof. N. Krishnaverny Head, Department of Fine Arts, Faculty of Arts, University of Jaffna
Dr. Jayashankar Director Swami Vipulananda Institute of Aesthetic Studies,- Eastern University, Sri Lanka
Dr. S. Suthakar Dean, Faculty of Arts University of Jaffna
Dr. Kumudini Maddumage Head, department of Performing Arts University of Jaffna
Dr. Darshan Pradeep Rathnayaka Head, Department of Languages and cultural Studies and Performing Arts, University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Mr. Dharmasena Pathiraja Chairman Sri Lanka Media Training Institute
Ms Arundathi Sri Ranganathan Visiting Lecturer