You are here: About us Standing Committees

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Quality Assurance Council

Terms of Reference


The UGC, empowered by Section 4(2) of the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978, as and when required appoints Standing Committees for specific purposes, consisting of such members and with such powers, duties and functions as may be determined by the Commission. The Chairman of each Standing Committee shall be a member of the Commission.


The main role of the Standing Committee on Quality Assurance Council would be to function as the advisory body to UGC - QAC and vigorously pursue/promote QA programmes according to universities.

In this regard the following specific activities will be pursued:

  • Initiate actions on policy directions issued by the UGC from time to time and take steps to implement prescribed initiatives, programmes and activities at university/campus/institute level.
  • Function as a catalytic unit to promote new initiatives and reforms to improve and advance the quality and relevance of all undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes and convey to the Commission for consideration.
  • Function as the advisory body of the QAC of UGC and also as the monitoring and reporting body of the quality assurance and accreditation programme undertaken by QAC.
  • Engage in designing and introduction of regulatory framework (i.e. pre-requisites, uniform credit and qualification framework, and standard teaching and training, and evaluation methods) to promote lateral mobility of students among non-professional degree programmes such as Agricultural Sciences, Natural and Applied Sciences and Liberal Arts and Humanities.
  • Frame guidelines for planning of new undergraduate degree programmes, namely, a) ways and means of evaluating need and demand, b) graduate profile, c) structure of the study programme, d) courses and intended learning outcomes and planning for course modules, e) evaluation procedures and f) credit qualification framework for natural and applied science degree programmes.

Members Information

Membership Name Designation Institute
Chairman Senior Prof. A K W Jayawardane Senior Professor/Civil Engineering University of Moratuwa
Secretary Ms. WADC Gunawardana Assistant Secretary/Quality Assurance Council University Grants Commission
Prof. Nilanthi de Silva Vice-Chancellor University of Kelaniya
Prof. Udith K Jayasinghe Vice-Chancellor Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Jayantha Lal Rathnasekara Vice-Chancellor Uva-Wellassa University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Sujeewa Amarasena Vice-Chancellor University of Ruhuna
Prof. Rohana Mahaliyanarachchi Vice-Chancellor University of Visual and Performing Arts
Mr R Uduwawala Addl Secretary Non-State Higher Education,MoHE
Mr. G.M.R.D Aponsu Director /Planning MoHE
Prof. Tilak Gamage Director /QAC University Grants Commission
Prof. Mahinda Atapaththu Director/ CQA University of Ruhuna
Dr. AMANB Attanayake Director/ CQA Uva-Wellassa University of Sri Lanka
Dr. DMS Duminda Director /CQA  Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Prof. H.A.D. Ruwandeepika Director /CQA Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
Prof Meena Senthilnanthanan Director /CQA University of Jaffna
Prof. Ranjith Pallegama Director /CQA University of Peradeniya
Prof. Nirmalie Pallewatte Director /CQA University of Colombo
Dr. P Elango Acting Director /CQA Eastern University of Sri Lanka
Dr. M.I.S. Safeena  Director /CQA South Eastern University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Nihal Senanayake Director /CQA   Open University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Priyangani Senanayake Director / CQA  Uiversity of Kelaniya
Prof. Samanthi Senaratne Director /CQA  University of Sri Jayawardenapura
Prof. Renuka Silva Director /CQA Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Mr. V Sivahar Director / CQA  University of Moratuwa
Dr. Chinthaka Prageeth Meddegoda Director / CQA  University of the Visual & Performing Arts
Members on Advisory Capacity
Prof. Jayantha Jayawardana Former Director Postgraduate Institute of Indigenous Medicine
Dr. Upali Mampitiya Advisor for SLQF work Open University of Sri Lanka
Dr. B.D. Nandadeva Advisor on QA manual development AHEAD operation
Prof. Prasad Sethunga