YOUAREHERE எம்மை பற்றி நிலையியற் குழுக்கள்

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

  • English
  • Sinhala
  • Tamil-Sri Lanka

Quality Assurance Council

Terms of Reference


The UGC, empowered by Section 4(2) of the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978, as and when required appoints Standing Committees for specific purposes, consisting of such members and with such powers, duties and functions as may be determined by the Commission. The Chairman of each Standing Committee shall be a member of the Commission.


The main role of the Standing Committee on Quality Assurance Council would be to function as the advisory body to UGC - QAC and vigorously pursue/promote QA programmes according to universities.

In this regard the following specific activities will be pursued:

  • Initiate actions on policy directions issued by the UGC from time to time and take steps to implement prescribed initiatives, programmes and activities at university/campus/institute level.
  • Function as a catalytic unit to promote new initiatives and reforms to improve and advance the quality and relevance of all undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes and convey to the Commission for consideration.
  • Function as the advisory body of the QAC of UGC and also as the monitoring and reporting body of the quality assurance and accreditation programme undertaken by QAC.
  • Engage in designing and introduction of regulatory framework (i.e. pre-requisites, uniform credit and qualification framework, and standard teaching and training, and evaluation methods) to promote lateral mobility of students among non-professional degree programmes such as Agricultural Sciences, Natural and Applied Sciences and Liberal Arts and Humanities.
  • Frame guidelines for planning of new undergraduate degree programmes, namely, a) ways and means of evaluating need and demand, b) graduate profile, c) structure of the study programme, d) courses and intended learning outcomes and planning for course modules, e) evaluation procedures and f) credit qualification framework for natural and applied science degree programmes.

Members Information

Membership Name Designation Institute
Chairman Senior Prof. A.K.W. Jayawardane Commission Member and Chairman to the Standing Committee University Grants Commission
Secretary Dr. PNKW Panditharathne Deputy Secretary/Quality Assurance Council University Grants Commission
Prof. Nilanthi de Silva Vice-Chancellor University of Kelaniya
Prof. Sujeewa Amarasena Vice-Chancellor University of Ruhuna
Prof. Nirmalie Pallewatta Consultant/QAC University Grants Commission
Prof. Darshanee Ruwandeepika Director/ CQA Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
Prof. K.D. Renuka Silva Director/ CQA Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Dr Chinthaka Prageeth Meddegoda Director /CQA The University of the Visual and Performing Arts
Prof. A Jahfer Director /CQA South Eastern University of Sri Lanka
Prof. N.S.B.M. Atapattu Director /CQA University of Ruhuna
Dr. Dilani Hettiarachchi Director/ CQA Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Mr. V. Sivahar Director/ CQA University of Moratuwa
Prof. C. Pathriwasam Director /CQA University of Kelaniya
Prof. RB Marasinghe Director /CQA University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Prof. Gominda Ponnamperuma Director /CQA University of Colombo
Dr.(Mrs) H.M.C.J. Herath Director /CQA Open University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Sisira Ediriweera Director /CQA Uva Wellassa University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Ranjith Pallegama Director /CQA University of Peradeniya
Dr. P Elango Director /CQA Eastern University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Meena Senthilnanthan Director /CQA  University of Jaffna
Dr. Ranuka Hewage Acting Director /CQA Gampaha Wickramarachchi University of Indigenous Medicine
Prof. A. Pushpananthan Director /CQA University of Vavuniya
Prof. S.R. de Alwis Seneviratne Invitee General Sri John Kotelawala Defence University
Members on Advisory Capacity
Prof. Jayantha Jayawardana
Prof. Kalyani Perera
Dr. B.D. Nandadeva
Prof. Prasad Sethunga

தகைமைகளை அங்கீகரித்தல்