University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

  • English
  • Sinhala
  • Tamil-Sri Lanka

Commission Circular No: 906

February 06, 2009.

Vice-Chancellors of Universities
Rectors of Campuses
Directors of Institutes



Further to Commission Circular No. 88 of 10th July 1980 and subsequent amendments made thereto granting study leave to the medically and dentally qualified teachers.

The Commission at its 772nd meeting considered the fact that it is mandatory for Lecturers (Probationary) in all clinical departments and some para-clinical departments in the Faculties of Medicine and Dental Sciences to be board-certified in a relevant specialty by the Postgraduate Institute of Medicine (PGIM) in order to promote them to the post of Senior Lecturer, Grade II and that such Lecturers (Probationary) are presently granted three (03) years and three (03) months study leave with pay. The Commission further noted that the duration of the PGIM training programmes may sometimes take more than 06 years which is longer than the 03 years and 03 months leave approved with pay for a Ph.D.

Therefore, the Commission decided to approve the following provisions and to include them into the existing leave regulations:

  1. to encourage and allow all Lecturers (Probationary) in clinical and some para-clinical departments in the Faculties of Medicine and Dental Sciences to follow PGIM training programmes within the same department or relevant department in the Faculty in which they are employed, even on a supernumerary basis.
  1. to grant duty leave to such trainees in instances where they cannot be accommodated as mentioned in the preceding paragraph, to follow the PGIM training programmes in other institutions as appropriate, subject to condition that they shall attend to such work in their departments as specified by the Head of the Department.
  1. to grant study leave with pay for the minimum total training period required for board-certification, with the approval of the UGC, as a concession to academic staff employed in the Faculties of Medicine and Dental Sciences where the units are not recognized by the PGIM for training. This facility should be subject to condition that the whole period of study leave shall not exceed the minimum period required for board certification in the relevant discipline. This concession will initially be in operation for a period of 05 years up to 2014.

The provisions of this Circular are effective from 15th February 2009.

Please take action accordingly.

( Prof. Gamini Samaranayake )

Copies to:

  1. Chairman’s Office/UGC
  2. Vice-Chairman/UGC
  3. Members of the UGC
  4. Secretary/UGC
  5. Deans of Faculties
  6. Registrars of Universities
  7. Financial Controller/UGC
  8. Bursars of Universities
  9. Librarians/SAL/AL of the HEII
  10. Deputy Registrars/Snr. Asst. Registrars/Asst. Bursars of Campuses/Institutes
  11. Deputy Bursars/Snr. Asst. Bursars/Asst. Bursars of Campuses/Institutes
  12. Chief Internal Auditor/UGC
  13. Govt. Audit Superintendents of Universities
  14. Snr. Asst. Int. Auditors/Asst. Int. Auditors of HEII
  15. Secretaries of Trade Unions
  16. Auditor-General

File No. UGC/HR/6/10/12

Download this file (Circular906.pdf)Commission Circular No: 906[ ]488 Kb

விசேட இடையிணைப்பிகள்